2015 Nobel Prize Goes to Neutrinos

Earlier today, it was announced that the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to Takaaki Kajita and Arthur McDonald for their work on neutrino oscillations. Kajita received the prize for work on Super-Kamiokande and McDonald for the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory (SNO). There have already been several neutrino-related Nobel Prizes, but this one honors the experiments that definitively showed that neutrino oscillations really do exist. Both experiments found evidence of neutrino oscillations in atmospheric neutrinos, created in showers caused by high energy particles interacting with air high in the atmosphere.