Buffalo Bicycle Classic

Today in Boulder, we had the Buffalo Bicycle Classic, an annual bike ride that raises money for scholarships for Arts & Sciences students at the University of Colorado.

Since I only have a hybrid bike (basically a commuter bike), I did the 35 mile course. It’s not really a race, so I didn’t try to go as fast as I could. My time actually riding the bike (there were a few rest stops with water and snacks) was around 2.5 hours. Luckily, it didn’t rain at all today, so the weather was mostly quite nice, although a little hot. The 35 mile course goes from campus up US 36 for a while and then over to the small town of Hygiene before turning back and returning to campus.

For more serious bikers, there are longer courses. The hardest is a 110 mile course climbing Boulder Canyon to Nederland and following the Peak to Peak Highway, passing through Lyons, and then going up near Loveland before returning.

